Advisory Board and Editors Mathematical Biology

Christian L. Althaus

Research group leader at the Institute of Social and Preventive Medicine (ISPM) at the University of Bern (Switzerland). Christian Althaus' research is focused on modeling the dynamics of infectious diseases within and between hosts. He is a co-founder of the Swiss Meeting for Infectious Disease Dynamics (SMIDDY).

Søren M Bentzen

Professor, Director of the Division of Biostatistics & Medical Informatics, Department of Epidemiology and Public Health, University of Maryland - Baltimore. Adjunct professor University of Copenhagen, Denmark. 20+ awards and honors incl. ESTRO Gold Medal, MD Anderson Distinguished Alumnus Award, Honorary Life member Assoc. of Radiation Oncologists of India & Belgian Soc. for Therapeutic Radiology and Oncology. 370+ publications, H-index 62 Web of Science.

Jinde Cao

Dr. Jinde Cao is a Distinguished Professor at Southeast University and also a Distinguished Adjunct Professor at King Abdulaziz University. Dr. Cao was an Associate Editor of IEEE Transactions on Neural Networks, Journal of the Franklin Institute and Neurocomputing. He is an Associate Editor of IEEE Transactions on Cybernetics, Mathematics and Computers in Simulation and Neural Networks. Professor Cao is a ISI Highly-Cited Researcher in Mathematics and Engineering listed by Thomson Reuters.

Markus A Dahlem

Currently Guest Scientist at the Department of Physics at the Humboldt University, Berlin, Germany. Member of the Cardiovascular Physics Lab. Held formerly positions in the Department of Neurology at the University of Magdeburg (Germany) and in the Department of Psychology at the University of Stirling (Scotland, UK).

Matthias Dehmer

Professor of Bioinformatics and Systems Biology. Head of the Insititute for Bioinformatics and Translational Research at UMIT, Hall in Tyrol, Austria.

David L Dill

Professor of Computer Science, Stanford University, Member of the National Academy of Engineering and American Academy of Arts and Sciences, IEEE and ACM Fellow.

Martin Falcke

Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine

Head of the group Mathematical Cell Physiology, Recipient of the 2003 Erwin Schrödinger Award


Joseph Felsenstein

Joe Felsenstein is Professor of the Department of Genome Sciences, and adjunct Professor of the Department of Statistics, University of Washington, Seattle. Past President of the Society for the Study of Evolution. Recipient of the Weldon Memorial Prize; the Darwin-Wallace Medal of the Linnean Society of London; the John J. Carty Award for the Advancement of Science. Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the National Academy of Sciences. On the Editorial Board of five journals.


Karl J. Friston

Karl Friston is Professor of Imaging Neuroscience/Wellcome Principal Research Fellow, Faculty of Brain Science, University College London. In 2000 he was President of the international Organization of Human Brain Mapping. In 2003 he was awarded the Minerva Golden Brain Award and was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society in 2006. In 2008 he received a Medal, Collège de France and an Honorary Doctorate from the University of York in 2011. He became of Fellow of the Society of Biology in 2012.

Michele Giugliano

Associate Professor and PI at the Univ. of Antwerp. Visiting academic at the Dept. Computer Science, Univ. of Sheffield (UK), and external collaborator at the Brain Mind Institute of the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology of Lausanne, Switzerland. Associate Editor of Frontiers in Neuroengineering and PLoS ONE. Recipient in 2001 of a long-term fellowship from the Human Frontier Science Program Organization. Since 2008, director of the Lab of Theoretical Neurobiology and Neuroengineering.

Jessica L. Green

Associate Professor of Biology and External Faculty at the Santa Fe Institute. Founding Director of the Biology and Built Environment Center. Technology Entertainment and Design (TED) Senior Fellow, Guggenheim Fellow, Blaise Pascal International Research Chair.

Sunetra Gupta

Professor of Theoretical Epidemiology in the Department of Zoology at the University of Oxford. Recipient of the Zoological Society of London Scientific Medal and the Royal Society Rosalind Franklin Award. Member of European Advisory Board of Princeton University Press.