Advisory Board and Editors Clinical Trials

David B Allison

Distinguished Professor, Quetelet Endowed Professor of Public Health, Associate Dean for Science, Director of Office of Energetics, and Director of the Nutrition Obesity Research Center; Authored over 450 peer-reviewed publications and five books. 2012 IOM Member. 2002 ILSI Board of Trustees. Elected Fellow ASA, APA, & AAAS. 2002 Andre Mayer Award from IASO; 2009 ASN Centrum Award; 2002 Lilly Scientific Achievement Award & 2009 TOPS Award from the Obesity Society; 2006 NSF PAESMEM Award.

Søren M Bentzen

Professor, Director of the Division of Biostatistics & Medical Informatics, Department of Epidemiology and Public Health, University of Maryland - Baltimore. Adjunct professor University of Copenhagen, Denmark. 20+ awards and honors incl. ESTRO Gold Medal, MD Anderson Distinguished Alumnus Award, Honorary Life member Assoc. of Radiation Oncologists of India & Belgian Soc. for Therapeutic Radiology and Oncology. 370+ publications, H-index 62 Web of Science.

Gary S Collins

Gary has research interests primarily focussed on statistical (and reporting) aspects in developing and validating multivariable prediction models. He has published over 100 papers on clinical trials, observational studies, systematic reviews, quality of life, propensity scores and prediction models.

Gary is a statistical editor ("hanging committee") for the BMJ.

Gary also led the development of the TRIPOD Statement for reporting clinical prediction models -

Martin Daumer

Dr Martin Daumer: Director of the SLCMSR e.v. - The Human Motion Institute in Munich and managing director of the IT company, Trium Analysis Online GmbH. He is also visiting lecturer for Telemedicine and Clinical Applications of Computational Medicine at the Technical University Munich.

Dr Daumer received a diploma in Physics in 1990 and a Ph.D. in mathematics from the Ludwig-Maximilians-University Munich in 1995, after having worked at CERN, Switzerland, and Rutgers University, USA.

Derek J Hausenloy

Reader in Cardiovascular Medicine and British Heart Foundation Senior Clinical Research Fellow,,University College London. Honorary Consultant Cardiologist, University College Hospital. Clinical Academic with both basic science and clinical research interests.

Ellen D. Hodnett

Professor of Nursing, University of Toronto. Fellow, Canadian Academy of Health Sciences. Former member of the Editorial Board, Pregnancy and Childbirth Group of the Cochrane Collaboration, and the Scientific and Technical Advisory Group of the World Health Organization Department of Reproductive Health and Research.

Philip M Jones

Associate Professor in the Departments of Anesthesia & Perioperative Medicine, Epidemiology & Biostatistics, and Medicine at the University of Western Ontario in London, Ontario, Canada.

MSc in Clinical Trials from the London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine in 2011.

Practices anesthesiology and cardiac critical care.

Research interests include Comparative Effectiveness Research, Trial Reporting, Systematic Review & Meta-Analysis.

Yeong Yeh Lee

Yeong Yeh Lee, MD PhD FACP FRCP FACG. He currently holds a faculty position with the School of Medical Sciences, Universiti Sains Malaysia. He also holds research positions at the University of Glasgow and Georgia Regents University. Dr. Lee is actively involved in research related to gastroenterology and internal medicine. He is editor of BMC Gastroenterology, Journal of Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh (JRCPE) and Malaysian Journal of Medical Sciences (MJMS).

Lorraine O'Driscoll

BSc, MSc, MA, PhD, FTCD. Director of Research, Assoc. Prof. of Pharmacology. Worked in research for industry for 5yr prior to academia. Main focus: cancer; new therapeutic targets; diagnostic & predictive biomarkers; mechanisms of cell-cell communication - resulting in Phase I&II clinical trials, publications, patents. Lorraine leads an EU FP7 Cooperation in Science&Technology and research grants from HRB, EI, SFI, Marie Keating Foundation, Mater Foundation, Danish Strategic Research Council/EU.

Jair C. Soares

Dr. Soares obtained his M.D. in 1990 from the University of Sao Paulo School of Medicine, Brazil. He completed his psychiatric training at the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center, followed by a postdoctoral fellowship in neuroimaging research at the department of Psychiatry at Yale University School of Medicine. He has extensive clinical research experience on brain imaging, neurocognitive methods and clinical trials primarily in the field of mood disorders.

Mike A Thompson

I am passionate about clinical trials, translational and basic science research. It is a tragedy that only 2-7% of adults participate in cancer clinical trials. The treatment standards of care we have today in oncology are built upon the clinical trial leadership and patient participation of the past.

Thomas E Van Dyke

Vice President for Clinical and Translational Research, Chair, Department of Periodontology, Forsyth Institute, Cambridge, MA; D.D.S. (1973), Case Western Reserve University; M.S. (1979), SUNY at Buffalo; Periodontics Certificate (1980), SUNY at Buffalo; Ph.D. (1982), SUNY at Buffalo; Balint Orban Memorial Prize (1981); Diplomate, American Board of Periodontology (1989); IADR Award for Basic Research in Periodontology, 2001; Norton Ross Award, 2002; William J. Gies Periodontology Award; 2008.