Advisory Board and Editors Mathematical Biology

Karl J. Friston

Karl Friston is Professor of Imaging Neuroscience/Wellcome Principal Research Fellow, Faculty of Brain Science, University College London. In 2000 he was President of the international Organization of Human Brain Mapping. In 2003 he was awarded the Minerva Golden Brain Award and was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society in 2006. In 2008 he received a Medal, Coll├Ęge de France and an Honorary Doctorate from the University of York in 2011. He became of Fellow of the Society of Biology in 2012.

Simon DW Frost

Reader in Pathogen Dynamics at the University of Cambridge; formerly Adjunct Associate Professor in the Dept. of Pathology, University of California San Diego (UCSD). Graduated with a BA in Natural Sciences (1st class), Trinity College, Cambridge (1992), DPhil in Mathematical Biology, Merton College, Oxford (1996). Postdoctoral positions at Princeton University, Oxford University, University of Edinburgh and UCSD. Awards include: NATO Postdoctoral Fellowship (1996), MRC Nonclinical Training Fellowship (1997-2000), a Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit Award (2008-2013), and Thomson-Reuters Highly Cited Researcher awards in 2014, 2015, and 2016.

Joshy George

Associate Director fo Computational Sciences, The Jackson Laboratory for Genomic Medicine, CT, USA. Previously worked at the Peter MacCallum Cancer Center in Melbourne Australia and at the Genome Institute of Singapore.

Michele Giugliano

Associate Professor and PI at the Univ. of Antwerp. Visiting academic at the Dept. Computer Science, Univ. of Sheffield (UK), and external collaborator at the Brain Mind Institute of the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology of Lausanne, Switzerland. Associate Editor of Frontiers in Neuroengineering and PLoS ONE. Recipient in 2001 of a long-term fellowship from the Human Frontier Science Program Organization. Since 2008, director of the Lab of Theoretical Neurobiology and Neuroengineering.

Sunetra Gupta

Professor of Theoretical Epidemiology in the Department of Zoology at the University of Oxford. Recipient of the Zoological Society of London Scientific Medal and the Royal Society Rosalind Franklin Award. Member of European Advisory Board of Princeton University Press.

Alan Hastings

Distinguished Professor of Environmental Science and Policy. Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Former President of the Society for Mathematical Biology and Editor of the Encyclopedia of Theoretical Ecology.

Michael Henson

Michael A. Henson received the B.S. degree in chemical engineering from the University of Colorado, Boulder in 1985, the M.S. degree in chemical engineering from the University of Texas, Austin in 1988, and the Ph.D. degree in chemical engineering from the University of California, Santa Barbara in 1992. He held the position of visiting research scientist with the DuPont Company from 1992 to 1993, assistant professor and associate professor of chemical engineering at Louisiana State University from 1994 to 2002, Alexander von Humboldt Research Fellow at the University of Stuttgart from 2001 to 2002 and visiting professor at the Harvard Department of Systems Biology in 2009. He currently is professor of chemical engineering at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst. His research is focused on computational modeling of biotechnological and circadian systems.

Sungho Hong

Group leader in Computational Neuroscience Unit at Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology; Senior Fellow in the Department of Physiology and Biophysics at the University of Washington, Seattle; PhD in Physics (Theoretical High Energy Physics) from University of Pennsylvania

Stephen P. Hubbell

Distinguished Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, UCLA, and Senior Staff Scientist, Smithsonian Tropical Research Institute; Founding Chair, National Council for Science and the Environment, Washington, D.C.; Co-founder, Center for Tropical Forest Science; Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences: Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Mikko Karttunen

Professor of Chemistry at University of Waterloo. Leader of the Computational and Theoretical Biological Physics & Chemistry Group. Affiliate of the Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics at Waterloo.

Yarden Katz

I'm a departmental fellow in Systems Biology at Harvard Medical School and the Berkman Klein Center for Internet & Society. My scientific interests are at the interface between artificial intelligence and biology.

Lydia E Kavraki

Lydia Kavraki received her B.A. in Computer Science from the University of Crete in Greece and her Ph.D. in Computer Science from Stanford University. Her research contributions are in physical algorithms and their applications in robotics as well as in computational structural biology and translational bioinformatics. Kavraki is the recipient of the ACM Grace Murray Hopper Award; a Fellow of ACM, IEEE, AAAS, AAAI, and AIMBE; and a member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies.