Your institution has a plan with PeerJ, so that you don't have to pay to publish Open Access. See if you qualify

Read for yourself

why authors are choosing to publish in PeerJ & support its mission. Author interviews

Academic Editors

The following people constitute the Editorial Board of Academic Editors for the PeerJ journal. These active academics are the Editors who seek peer reviewers, evaluate their responses, and make editorial decisions on each submission to the journal. We will continue to add to the board of Academic Editors and are seeking qualified and diverse academics who share our vision.

Stefano Ciurli

PhD in Chemistry at Harvard University. Full Professor of General and Inorganic Chemistry at the University of Bologna since 2001. The scientific background is bioinorganic chemistry, and the main interest is focused on the chemistry of metal ions in biological systems.

Olivier Civelli

Chair and Professor, Pharmacology and Eric L. and Lila D. Nelson Chair in Neuropharmacology, School of Medicine, University of California, Irvine.

Edward A. Clark

Professor, Microbiology and Immunology; Adjunct Professor, Medicine, University of Washington. Helped found two Seattle Biotech companies.

Christine E. Clayton

Professor of Microbiology at the University of Heidelberg. Member of the editorial boards of several journals, past or present membership of scientific advisory committees for WHO and public-private partnerships in tropical diseases.

Jean Clobert

Senior Researcher (DR hc, CNRS), Station d’Ecologie Experimentale du CNRS à Moulis. Member of the Acamedia Europaea.

C. Robert Cloninger

Wallace Renard Professor of Psychiatry; Professor of Genetics and Psychology; Director of Sansone Family Center for Well-Being; of Washington University School of Medicine.

Tom Coenye

Professor of Microbiology and co-director of the Laboratory of Pharmaceutical Microbiology at Ghent University. Section Editor for BMC Genomics. Member of the editorial board of Journal of Microbiological Methods and Mycopathologia. Recipient of the 2007 Dade Behring MicroScan Young Investigator Award (awarded by the American Society for Microbiology and the American Academy for Microbiology).

Frederick M. Cohan

Frederick Cohan studies the origins of diversity in bacteria. He teaches classes in the origins of bacterial diversity, evolutionary and ecological bioinformatics, global change and infectious disease, and introductory biology. He is a professor of biology and environmental studies at Wesleyan University. He graduated from Pasadena High School and earned his BS at Stanford in Biological Sciences; he was the first to earn a PhD from Harvard's Organismic and Evolutionary Biology department.

J. John Cohen

Professor of Immunology and Medicine at the University of Colorado School of Medicine, Aurora, Colorado, USA. Developer of the Mini Med School and other public outreach programs. Recipient of the 2011 AAAS Award for the Public Understanding of Science and Technology.

Phyllis D. Coley

Distinguished Professor, Department of Biology, University of Utah.

Graham L. Collingridge

Professor of Neuroscience in Anatomy and Former Director of the MRC Centre for Synaptic Plasticity. Fellow of the Royal Society and the Academy of Medical Sciences. Former President of the British Neuroscience Association and former Editor-in-Chief of Neuropharmacology.

Gary S Collins

Gary has research interests primarily focussed on statistical (and reporting) aspects in developing and validating multivariable prediction models. He has published over 80 papers on clinical trials, observational studies, systematic reviews, quality of life assessment, propensity scores and prediction models.

Gary is also a statistical editor ("hanging committee") for the British Medical Journal.

Signup for alerts & more

It's Free. Enter your email or learn more.

If you would like to be considered for our academic editorial board then please send your cover letter and resume/CV to