Advisory Board and Editors Computational Biology

Goo Jun

I am currently an assistant professor at the University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston. I work on statistical genetics, computational biology, bioinformatics, and sequence data analysis. With backgrounds in machine learning and data mining, my research is focused on development of computational and statistical methods for analysis of massive data to understand genetics and biology of complex traits. I have been working on the analysis of large-scale next-generation sequencing data, for which I developed statistical models and software pipelines for detecting sample contamination, variant discovery, machine-learning based variant filtering, and genotyping of structural variations. I also work on genetics of diabetes, obesity, and related traits and study of metabolomic and microbiome compositions related to genetics of common and complex traits.

Mikko Karttunen

Professor of Chemistry at University of Waterloo. Leader of the Computational and Theoretical Biological Physics & Chemistry Group. Affiliate of the Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics at Waterloo.

Yarden Katz

I'm a departmental fellow in Systems Biology at Harvard Medical School. In 2016-2017, I will also be a fellow at Berkman Klein Center for Internet & Society. My scientific interests are at the border between artificial intelligence and biology.

Lydia E Kavraki

Lydia Kavraki received her B.A. in Computer Science from the University of Crete in Greece and her Ph.D. in Computer Science from Stanford University. Her research contributions are in physical algorithms and their applications in robotics as well as in computational structural biology and translational bioinformatics. Kavraki is the recipient of the ACM Grace Murray Hopper Award; a Fellow of ACM, IEEE, AAAS, AAAI, and AIMBE; and a member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies.

Hossein Khiabanian

Hossein is an Assistant Professor of Pathology in the Division of Medical Informatics at Rutgers Cancer of Institute of New Jersey. His group develops novel analytical methods to understand the underlying genetics of human diseases and the molecular epidemiology of disease-causing organisms using high-throughput genomic data. The group is especially interested in studying tumor clonal evolution, and identifying prognostic markers in cancer, particularly in hematological malignancies. Hossein received his Ph.D. in Physics from Brown University, where he studied galaxy clusters and dark matter structures, using weak gravitational lensing. Prior to joining Rutgers, he was a member of the faculty in the Department Biomedical Informatics at Columbia University.

Carl Kingsford

Associate Professor, Computational Biology Department, School of Computer Science, Carnegie Mellon University, and Co-Associate Director, Joint CMU-Pitt Ph.D. Program in Computational Biology

Lukasz Kurgan

Professor in the Department of Computer Science at the Virginia Commonwealth University. Research interests in the development and applications of high throughput computational methods in structural bioinformatics with focus on protein-ligand interactions, intrinsic disorder, and microRNAs. Area editor for structural bioinformatics of the BMC Bioinformatics, and member of editorial boards of Intrinsically Disordered Proteins, PLoS ONE, Neurocomputing and Protein and Peptide Letters journals.

Nikos C Kyrpides

Dr. Kyrpides is the Head of the Prokaryotic Super Program and the Microbiome Data Science Group at the DOE Joint Genome Institute. Prior to joining the JGI, Dr. Kyrpides led the development of the genome analysis and Bioinformatics core at Integrated Genomics Inc. in Chicago, IL. He did his postdoctoral studies with Carl Woese at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and with Ross Overbeek at the Argonne National Laboratory. He received the van Niel International Prize for Studies in Bacterial Systematics (2011-2014); Elected Fellow: AAM

Julia Kzhyshkowska

1997: PhD Cancer Research Centre of the Russian Academy of Medical Sciences, Moscow.
1997-2001: Postdoc at the University of Regensburg
2001-2007: Junior group leader/PI and lecturer, University of Heidelberg.
2007- 2010:Senior group leader/PI and senior lecturer, University of Heidelberg
2010-2013: Professor, head of the Lab for Cellular and Molecular Biology of Innate Immunity;
2013-permanent: Professor, head of Department for Innate Immunity and Tolerance, University of Heidelberg.

Hilmar Lapp

I am the Assistant Director for Informatics at the National Evolutionary Synthesis Center (NESCent). In this role I am involved with and have helped initiate many of the Center’s cyberinfrastructure initiatives aimed at grass-roots community capacity buildimg in informatics, including the Center's hackathon program and Google Summer of Code™ (GSoC) participation. I am co-PI of the NSF-funded Phenoscape project on ontological annotation of evolutionary phenotype observations, co-convener of the Biodiversity Information Standards (TDWG) Interest Group on Phylogenetics Standards, senior personnel in the Dryad digital data repository for data supporting scientific publications, and a participant in the Data Integration and Semantics Working Group of DataONE.

Before joining NESCent, I worked for almost 10 years in functional genome informatics in the biopharmaceutical industry sector, where among other things I built SymAtlas, one of the first decidedly gene-centric database integrating genome annotation databases with gene function data.

Timo Lassmann

Head of computational biology and the genetics and rare disease program at the Telethon Kids Institute. Interested in sequence analysis, large scale data integration and medical genomics. Past: RIKEN, Karolinska Institute, King's College London.

Gerard R. Lazo

Geneticist; Crop Improvement and Genetics Research Unit, Agricultural Research Service, Western Regional Research Center, Albany, CA USA.