Advisory Board and Editors Genomics

PeerJ Factsheet
A one-page facts and stats PDF, to help when considering journal options with your co-authors.

Alastair Culham

Associate Professor of Botany and Curator of the University of Reading Herbarium (RNG).

Holger Daims

Professor of Microbial Ecophysiology at the University of Vienna, Austria. Research interests include biogeochemical cycles with focus on the microbiology of nitrogen cycling, microbial functional genomics, microbial ecology, and molecular and isotope approaches to study the physiology of uncultured microorganisms. An additional research focus is on fluorescence microscopy and digital image analysis methods for studying the composition and structure of biofilms, flocs, and other spatially complex assemblies in free-living and host-associated microbial communities.

Natasha de Vere

Head of Conservation and Research at the National Botanic Garden of Wales and Senior Lecturer at the Institute of Biological, Environmental and Rural Sciences (IBERS) at Aberystwyth University.

Wendy Dean

Senior Research Scientist, Epigenetics Programme, The Babraham Institute
Babraham Research Campus, Cambridge, UK.

Dieter LD Deforce

Dieter Deforce PharmD, PhD, head of the Lab for Pharmaceutical Biotechnology at the Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences at the University of Gent, Belgium. He is chair of the Belgian Medicines Committee, he is member of the Scientific Advise Working Party of the EMA. He is a partner in NXT-GNT, a research consortium providing the research community next generation DNA-sequencing. He is also a partner in the Bioinformatics Institute Ghent From Nucleotides to Networks (BIG N2N) of the University Ghent. He is member of the board of directors of the VIB.
Research focuses around applying proteomics and genomics platforms (including Next Generation Sequencing) in the field of stem cell development, prenatal genetic diagnosis, (auto-)immunity and forensics.

Christophe Dessimoz

Lecturer at University College London (UCL) on a joint appointment between the Department of Genetics, Evolution & Environment and the Department of Computer Science.

Nicholas J Dickens

Associate Research Professor in Bioinformatics at Florida Atlantic University. Research focus genomics of marine organisms, environmental microbiomes and machine learning to understand genome sequence. Wellcome Trust Centre for Molecular Parasitology, University of Glasgow Bioinformatics team for 7 years and lead the team for 4 of those. Also lead an experimental sequencing team in the Centre and has a bioinformatics research group. Originally, studied Biology at Imperial College London and moved into bioinformatics at NV Organon Pharmaceuticals in the Netherlands. Following this he had a research post at the MRC Functional Genetics Unit, University of Oxford where he stayed to do his genome informatics PhD. Has held research post-doctoral posts in London working in type-2 diabetes and cardiovascular disease at Imperial College, and cancer biology at the Institute of Cancer Research.

Jocelyne DiRuggiero

Associate professor of Biology and Earth and Planetary Sciences; member of the Center for Astrophysical Sciences; co-founder and director of the Institute for Planets and Life. We use extremophiles to address fundamental questions in biology, in particular mechanisms underlying the diversity of microbial communities, their functioning, and their responses to environmental perturbations. At the molecular level, we use archaeal model systems to investigate adaptive mechanisms to environmental stresses.

Xianjun Dong

Director of Computational Neuroscience, Parkinson Personalized Medicine program, Brigham and Women's Hospital; Instructor in Neurology, Harvard Medical School

Karine Dubrana

Group leader of the Genome Instability and Nuclear Organization Laboratory, CEA, IRCM, France. PhD in Microbiology and Molecular Biology.

Diana Dudziak

Professor for 'Dendritic Cell Biology' at the Department of Dermatology, University Hospital of Erlangen at the Friedrich-Alexander University of Erlangen/N├╝rnberg, Germany. Member at German Society of Immunolgy, Medical Immunology Campus Erlangen (steering committee), Optical Imaging Center Erlangen (steering committee), Academia Net, New York Academy of Sciences, International Society for Dendritic Cell and Vaccine Design, European Macrophage and Dendritic Cell Society