Advisory Board and Editors Immunology

Antonella Prisco

Researcher at the Institute of Genetics and Biophysics of the National Research Council.

Carlo Ennio Pucillo

Carlo Pucillo is full professor in Immunology at School of Medicine of University of Udine. In his scientific career Prof. Carlo Pucillo has studied the "non canonical function" of MHC class II and the molecular mechanism that regulate the B cell activation and differentiation. From 2-1991 to 6-1994 Dr Pucillo has been Visiting Scientist at NCI in Bethesda, MD-USA.

He has acquired a considerable expertise in advanced molecular biology analysis as well as a good understanding of the immunobiology of the immune response, of the non canonical function of MHC class II molecules, in particular, as documented by his publications on this subjects.

He has also investigated the signal transduction pathways elicited by T-B cell interaction via CD40-CD154. CD40 is a B cell surface receptor that belongs to the pleiotropic tumor necrosis factor receptor (TNFR) superfamily. The interaction between CD40 and its ligand promotes proliferation, cytokine production, upregulation of various surface molecules involved in antigen presentation, germinal center and memory B cell formation antibody isotype switching and affinity maturation and the B cell life span.

Most recently, his interest is in the study of regulatory role of Mast Cells in the microenvironment and subsequently in the tissutal tolerance and adaptive immune response. This body of work may provide a conceptual framework to therapeutically manipulate these responses in the settings of autoimmune disease and cancer.

Giuseppe Remuzzi

Prof. of Nephrology, Director of the Department of Immunology and Clinical Transplantation and Director of the Department of Medicine of the Ospedali Riuniti di Bergamo, Italy. Research Coordinator of the Negri Bergamo Laboratories of the ìMario Negriî Institute for Pharmacological Research. Recipient of ISN Jean Hamburger Award (2005), ASN John. P. Peters Award (2007), ISN AMGEN Award (2011). 2011 appointed as ISN President-elect (2013-2015)

Thomas Ritter

Prof Thomas Ritter, leader of research programme, was recruited by the National University of Ireland, Galway as a lecturer in Gene Therapy and Regenerative Medicine and assumed his position in March 2005. Prof. Ritter has over 20 year experience in the field of gene therapy in organ transplantation. He obtained his Ph.D. degree in 1994 from the Max-Planck Research group of Immunology / Rheumatology at the University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, Germany where he worked on the molecular characterization of T cell receptors specific for human collagen type II. Having completed his Post-Doctoral Fellowship at Marseille, Center of Immunology in 1995, Prof. Ritter took up a faculty position at the prestigious Charité University Hospital in Berlin, Germany. He worked as a leader of the gene therapy programme in experimental transplantation in the Institute of Medical Immunology under the directorship of Prof. Dr. H.-D. Volk. His research focused on the development of efficient viral gene-transfer systems for application in transplantation medicine. Prof. Ritter was successful in obtaining funding from the German Research Foundation and the Ministry of Health and Research as well as from industry (Schering). Prof. Ritter completed his 'Habilitation' (postdoctoral lecture qualification) in Immunology in 2002 followed by a promotion to assistant professor in 2003.

Mauricio Rodriguez-Lanetty

Dr. Mauricio Rodriguez-Lanetty is a marine molecular ecologist at Florida International University. His research focuses on discerning the physiological and adaptive basis of tolerance and resistance to abiotic and biotic stressors of cnidarian organisms, in particular but not restricted to reef-building corals. This also includes the study of the symbiotic interactions between microbial organisms and cnidarian hosts as part of the acclimatization and adaptive responses of the entire symbiotic consortia. Dr. Rodriguez-Lanetty obtained his bachelor degree in the Universidad Simon Bolivar (Caracas, Venezuela) and his PhD in the University of Queensland (Australia).

Pamela C. Ronald

Professor, Dept Plant Pathology and the Genome Center, UC Davis. Director, Grass Genetics, JBEI. Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Recipient of the USDA 2008 National Research Initiative Discovery Award. 2009 recipient of the National Association of Science Writers Science in Society Journalism Award. Selected as one of the 100 most creative people in business by Fast Company Magazine. Co-author of Tomorrow's Table: Organic Farming, Genetics, & the Future of Food

Camillo Rosano

Physicist, in 1996 he started his studies in Macromolecular Crystallography at the Advanced Biotechnology Center, Genova (I). In 1997 he achieved the Advanced Certificate in Principles of Protein Structures (PPS). Birkbeck College, University of London, UK. and in 1998 he spent a period at the “York Structural Biology Laboratory”, York University, York, UK for a Macromolecular crystallography traineeship. He participated to the NASA expeditions STS100/ISS6A and STS110/ISS7A, by designing experiment of protein crystallization onboard the International Space Station (ISS). Director of different Courses and Workshops, he is the author/coauthor of more than 100 peer-reviewed scientific publications.

Camillo Rosano has the Habilitation as Full Professor in Biochemistry and Habilitation as Full Professor in Applied Biology. Italian Ministry for University, Education and Research (MIUR), 2012

Angela Rösen-Wolff

Study of Medicine at the Ruprecht-Karls-Universiy in Heidelberg, Germany; Habilitation in Experimental Virology. Head of Clinical Research at the Department of Pediatrics, University Hospital Carl Gustav Carus at TU Dresden, Germany, since 1995. Speaker of Clinical Research Unit 249 "Defects of the Innate Immune System in Autoinflammation and Autoimmunity" since 2010

Annika Scheynius

Professor in Clinical Allergy Research and head of the Translational Immunology Unit, Karolinska Institutet. Member of the Board of Medicine and Health within the Swedish Research Council and Member of the Nobel Assembly Karolinska Institutet.

David Schrama

Research focus on tumorimmunology and tumorbiology of skin cancer especially melanoma and merkel cell carcinoma. PhD and Post-Doc at medical university hospital Wuerzburg. Now Associate Professor at Medical University Graz, Austria.

Martina Schroeder

Dr Martina Schroeder is a Lecturer and Head of the Host-Pathogen Interaction Lab at Maynooth University. Her research addresses viral recognition, innate immune signaling pathways, and the roles of DEAD-box proteins in immunity. Previously Dr Schroeder conducted postdoctoral research with Prof. Andrew Bowie at Trinity College Dublin. In 2007, she was awarded a postdoctoral career development fellowship by the Irish HRB. She completed her PhD at the Charité University Hospital in Berlin in 2003.