Academic Editors

The following people constitute the Editorial Board of Academic Editors for PeerJ. These active academics are the Editors who seek peer reviewers, evaluate their responses, and make editorial decisions on each submission to the journal. Learn more about becoming an Editor.

Tadashi Yamamoto

Professor of Cell Signal Unit, Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology Graduate University. Editorial Board: Genes to Cells, Molecular Biology of the Cell, Protein and Cell, Experimental & Molecular Medicine. Awarded 1987, Princess Takamatsu Cancer Research Fund Prize, 1990 Asahi Prize, 2003 NIH Fogarty Scholar-in-Residence. Former director of the Institute of Medical Science, University of Tokyo.

Dong Yan

Dong Yan received his bachelor’s degree in Biology from Nankai University (Tianjin, China) in 2001. Following an interest in neuroscience, he then joined the Institute of Neuroscience (ION), the Chinese Academy of Sciences, as a graduate student. During his graduate training, he discovered the important role of AKT local degradation in the establishment and maintenance of neuronal polarity. As a postdoctoral fellow at the University of California, San Diego, he furthered his study of neural development and disorder in vivo using the genetic model organism C. elegans. Here, he demonstrated the essential role of a conserved MAP kinase pathway, the DLK-1 pathway, in axon regeneration and synapse regulation. Dr. Yan joined the MGM department at Duke University in September 2013. His lab focuses on addressing the molecular mechanisms undying neural circuit formation during development and neurodegeneration in aging.

Xiang-Jiao Yang

I have been an independent investigator at McGill University since 1997 and a full professor at the university since 2009. The research interests include post-translational modifications, gene regulation, chromatin, cell signaling, mouse development, and human diseases.

Wei Yang

Researcher at Bloodworks Research Institute and UW Medicine, University of Washington. Current work mainly focuses on zwitterionic-based surface coatings for long-term biomedical applications.

Guangdong Yang

Dr. Yang’s research focuses on a group of gasotransmitters, especially H2S, in the regulation of cellular functions and human diseases. Dr. Yang has received numerous awards and recognitions, including New Investigator award from the Heart and Stroke Foundation of Canada and Maureen Andrew Award from Heart and Stroke Foundation of Ontario. In his career, Dr. Yang has published ~100 peer-reviewed research articles, some of them published in high-impact journals, including as Science, Circulation, PNAS, and EMBO report etc. Their total citations are 5,951 (April 26, 2017).

Kentaro Yano

Associate Professor of Bioinformatics lab, Department of Life Sciences,
School of Agriculture, Meiji University.

Past; Graduate School of Agricultural and Life Sciences, The University of Tokyo.
Kazusa DNA Research Institute.

Plent Breeding, Kyoto University.

Judith Yanowitz

Dr. Yanowitz received her B.S. in biology with a minor in literature from MIT in 1991, worked for two years in Titia de Lange’s laboratory at Rockefeller University studying telomere biology. Judy received her Ph.D. from Princeton University where she worked onDrosophila melanogaster sex determination and dosage compensation in Paul Schedl’s lab. In 1999, she joined Andy Fire’s lab at the Carnegie Institution where she identified genes requiring for mesodermal tissue patterning in the nematode, Caenorhabditis elegans. Judy started her own lab at Carnegie Institution in 2004 to study the effect of chromatin on meiotic crossover formation. She joined MWRI and the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine in November 2009

Levi Yant

Project Leader at John Innes Centre (Department of Cell and Developmental Biology) and Group Leader at Harvard University (Organismic and Evolutionary Biology). I enjoyed a PhD in developmental genetics in Tübingen Germany, where I worked with Markus Schmid and Detlef Weigel at the Max Planck Institute for Developmental Biology. After finishing my NIH NRSA postdoc at Harvard, I started a group working on understanding adaptation to both environmental and genomic forces.

The overall aim of our work is to determine how evolution finds solutions to difficult problems by leveraging innovative population genomic approaches.

Nigel G. Yoccoz

Professor of Statistical Ecology at the Institute of Arctic and Marine Biology of UiT The Arctic University of Norway since 2003. Associate Editor of "Methods in Ecology and Evolution", "Ecography" and "Wildlife Biology", and former associate editors of Ecology and Ecology Letters.

Shin Yonehara

Professor of Molecular and Cellular Biology and Dean at the Graduate School of Biostudies, Kyoto University. Receipt of the 1998 Prize of Princess Takamatsu Cancer Research Fund (Tokyo).

Howard A. Young

Deputy Chief, Laboratory of Experimental Immunology, Frederick National Laboratory for Cancer Research.

Dr. Howard Young obtained his Ph.D. in microbiology at the University of Washington and carried out postdoctoral research at the NCI under Drs. Edward Scolnick and Wade Parks. He was a member of the Laboratory of Molecular Immunoregulation at NCI from 1983 to 1989 prior to joining the Laboratory of Experimental Immunology in 1989. He was President of the International Society for Interferon and Cytokine Research (2004-2005) and served as Chair of the Immunology Division of the American Society for Microbiology. He has also served as Chair of the NIH Cytokine Interest Group and Co-Chair of the NIH Immunology Interest Group. He is a two-time recipient of the NIH Director's Award for Mentoring (2000, 2006) and in 2006 he received the National Public Service Award.

Mark T Young

Dr Mark Young received his BSc (Hons) in Zoology from the University of Edinburgh in 2005, and his MSc (distinction) in Advanced Methods in Taxonomy and Biodiversity from Imperial College London in 2006. Mark completed his PhD in Earth Science from the University of Bristol, in collaboration with the Natural History Museum London in 2009.
Currently, Mark is a post-doctoral researcher at the School of GeoSciences at the University of Edinburgh. Specialising in the taxonomy, biomechanics, anatomy, and phylogeny of crocodylomorphs and marine reptiles. His current work is focused on the land-to-sea transition of marine crocodylomorphs - examining their palaeoneuroanatomy and sensory systems. Two additional active research areas are: (1) the crocodylomorph SuperMatrix Project, and (2) the fossils of Scotland.

Join for Free

It's Free. Enter your email or learn more.