Academic Editors

The following people constitute the Editorial Board of Academic Editors for PeerJ. These active academics are the Editors who seek peer reviewers, evaluate their responses, and make editorial decisions on each submission to the journal. Learn more about becoming an Editor.

PeerJ Factsheet
A one-page facts and stats PDF, to help when considering journal options with your co-authors.

Nicoletta Sacchi

Nicoletta Sacchi, Professor of Oncology and Distinguished Member of Genetics at the Roswell Park Cancer Institute (Buffalo) previously worked at the Johns Hopkins University, the National Cancer Institute, and the University of Milan. Together with Piotr Chomczynski, she identified the principle for the separation of RNA from DNA in 1987 that led to the classic Single Step Method for RNA isolation. Her expertise is in the field of genetics and epigenetics of cancer.

Nicola Saino

Full Professor of Ecology at the Department of Bioscicences of the University of Milan. Director of the PhD course of Natural and Environmental Sciences.

Jordi Salas-Salvadó

Professor of Nutrition and director of the Human Nutrition Unit (Rovira i Virgili University, Spain) and head of Nutrition of the Int. Med. Service (Sant Joan Hospital). This Unit is part of: a) Thematic Network of Mediterranean Diet and Cardiovascular Diseases, b) Health Diet in the Primary Prevention of Chronic Diseases: PREDIMED Network, and c) CIBERobn. Has directed 14 research projects funded by public bodies and 20 projects funded by the industries. He has published more than 250 papers.

Najat A. Saliba

Dr. Najat A. Saliba is a Full Professor at the Chemistry Department, FAS, and the Director of the AUB-Nature Conservation Center at AUB. Dr. Saliba established international protocols for the chemical studies of Water Pipe (WP), and provided policy makers worldwide with scientific evidence to support the ban on indoor WP smoking. She also developed innovative methods to determine the chemical characteristics of electronic cigarettes and initiated major projects to assess air pollutants in Lebanon. She has over 60 peer-reviewed articles that are highly cited. She is the recipient of the Lebanese National Council for Scientific Research Award in the Environmental Category in 2016.

Sara Salinas

Inserm Research Fellow at the Institute of Molecular Genetics of Montpellier

Riitta H Salmelin

Academy Professor (Academy of Finland), Professor of Imaging at Aalto University, Finland. Senior editor of the handbook “MEG. An Introduction to Methods” (OUP), Associate Editor of Human Brain Mapping. Elected member of Academia Europaea. Recipient of the Wiley Young Investigator Award of the Organization for Human Brain Mapping. Member of the European Commission President’s Science and Technology Advisory Council.

Freddie R Salsbury Jr

Associate Professor, Department of Physics, Wake Forest University. Adjunct Associate Professor, Cancer Biology. Director, Interdisciplinary Certificate Program in Structural and Computational Biophysics. Co-director, Crystallography and Computational Biosciences Core Facility, WFU CCC

Sarah Samadi

Sarah Samadi is professor at the Museum National d'Histoire Naturelle in Paris. The common background of all her scientific activities is the analysis of the conceptual grounds of systematics and evolutionary biology. Her present empirical projects are mainly in the fields of species delimitations and of speciation processes. Most of her projects are focusing on organisms from poorly known environments (mainly deep-sea environments, notably seamounts and organic remains sunken on the deep-sea floor) and are developed in the methodological framework of “Integrative Taxonomy”, in which methods in phylogenetics, population genetics and ecology are combined.

Michael Sammeth

I am a researcher in computational biology and my story starts at the Federal University of Würzburg (2002), where graduated in biology (major: biochemistry, genetics & neurobiology, virology & immunology, minor: computer science). My PhD studies were supported by the Ernst Schering Research Foundation, and I studied specialized algorithms for multiple sequence alignments at Bielefeld University and at the Free University of Amsterdam. The German Academic Exchange service funded my post-doctoral studies at the University Pompeu Fabra, where I started to work on genomics and (alternative) splicing. I followed these research lines at the newly created Center for Genomic Regulation in Barcelona, supported by a young researcher grant by the Spanish Ministry of Education and Science. Afterwards, I started my first group in Functional Bioinformatics at the Spanish National Sequencing Center, focusing on all aspects of functional elements as assessed by novel sequencing technologies.

Since 2013 I located to Brazil, where I researched at the National Center for Computational Science before joining the Biophysics Institute Carlos Chagas Filho at the Federal University of Rio de Janeiro. The research in my lab focuses on functional genomics and transcriptomics in general.

Luis Sampedro

Tenured Scientist, Misión Biológica de Galicia, Spanish National Research Council (CSIC). My research focus on Forest Genetics and Ecology, particularly with those topics involving interactions of trees with their biotic environment. I am interested in the study of responses to herbivores and pathogens in long lived plants in a broad sense. I am curious about how environmental factors (both biotic and abiotic), genetic variation within and between populations and other sources of phenotypic variation such as maternal effects can modulate those interactions. Using pine trees and their herbivores as a model, I try to understand how pine trees tolerate and resist insects and pathogens, joining approaches from quantitative genetics, evolutionary ecology, forest pathology and forestry. For those purposes, I use a variety of experimental approaches including laboratory, greenhouse and long term field research based systems.

Margaret Sampson

Senior Member of the Academy of Health Information Professionals. Recipient of the 2010 Canadian Hospital Librarian of the Year Award. Co-convener of PRESS Forum.

Margaret Sampson is the medical librarian at the Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario. Her specialty is information retrieval for systematic reviews. Her research has focused on improving search quality and efficiency. Margaret graduated from the University of Western Ontario with her Master of Library and Information Science degree in 1997, and in 2009 she completed her PhD through the University of Wales. She has over 80 peer reviewed publications and in 2010 was awarded the “Hospital Librarian of the Year” award by the Canadian Health Library Association.

Marta I Sánchez

I’m a Ramón y Cajal Researcher at the Doñana Biological Station (Spanish Council of Scientific Research, CSIC), Seville, Spain. Previously I was a postdoctoral fellow at the Center of Functional Ecology and Evolution (CEFE-CNRS) and the Institute for Research and Development (IRD), Montpellier, France. My research focuses on understanding the processes regulating aquatic ecosystem functioning. In particular I’m interested in the complex influence of waterbirds on wetland ecosystems via predation and dispersal of propagules, the role of trophically transmitted parasites (mainly those manipulating host behaviour) and biological invasions.

Join for Free

It's Free. Enter your email or learn more.