Your institution has a plan with PeerJ, so that you don't have to pay to publish Open Access. See if you qualify

Read for yourself

why authors are choosing to publish in PeerJ & support its mission. Author interviews

Academic Editors

The following people constitute the Editorial Board of Academic Editors for the PeerJ journal. These active academics are the Editors who seek peer reviewers, evaluate their responses, and make editorial decisions on each submission to the journal. We will continue to add to the board of Academic Editors and are seeking qualified and diverse academics who share our vision.

Marek W. Radomski

Professor of Pharmacology, Head of School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences and Director of Cancer Drug Discovery Center Trinity College Dublin Ireland. A highly-cited pharmacologist, recipient of Scientist of Canadian Institutes of Health Research, Trinity College Dublin Fellow and Complutense University Madrid Honorary Doctorate awards.

Ayyalusamy Ramamoorthy

Professor of Biophysics and Chemistry at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor. Associate Director of Biophysics. Elected fellow of AAAS and recipient of career award from NSF and Faculty Recognition Award from the University of Michigan.

Nitin A R Rao

Professor in Surgical Gastroenterology. Fellowship in Transplantation surgery from Sydney, Australia. Training in Hepatopancreatobiliary surgery from Prince of Wales Hospital, Hong Kong. National talent scholar awardee from University Grants Commission fro basic sciences. Publications in Transplantation, Gastroand gastro surgery and bioartificial liver.

Ron Rapee

Distinguished Professor of Psychology and Director, Centre for Emotional Health at Macquarie University. Member of the Order of Australia for services to clinical psychology. Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences in Australia.

Maria Pia Rastaldi

MD, Internal Medicine, Nephrology. PhD, Molecular Medicine. Director of the Renal Research Laboratory, Fondazione IRCCS Policlinico, Milano. Associate Editor Kidney International: Renal Pathology. Academic Editor PLOS ONE.

Stevens K. Rehen

Professor at Institute of Biomedical Sciences, Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Affiliated Member of the Brazilian Academy of Sciences and the Academy of Sciences for the Developing World. Past President of the Brazilian Society for Neuroscience and Behavior.

Jalees Rehman

Associate Professor of Medicine and Pharmacology, University of Illinois at Chicago

Heads a research group which studies:
1) embryonic stem cells, induced pluripotent stem cells, endothelial progenitor cells and adult stem cells
2) mitochondrial metabolism and mitochondrial networks in stem cells and cancer cells
3) cardiovascular repair, regeneration and angiogenesis
4) pulmonary hypertension and acute lung injury

Cardiologist and Fellow of the American Heart Association

Giuseppe Remuzzi

Prof. of Nephrology, Director of the Department of Immunology and Clinical Transplantation and Director of the Department of Medicine of the Ospedali Riuniti di Bergamo, Italy. Research Coordinator of the Negri Bergamo Laboratories of the ìMario Negriî Institute for Pharmacological Research. Recipient of ISN Jean Hamburger Award (2005), ASN John. P. Peters Award (2007), ISN AMGEN Award (2011). 2011 appointed as ISN President-elect (2013-2015)

David H. Reser

Lecturer, Behavioural and Systems Neuroscience Group, Department of Physiology. Formerly- Senior Scientist, Safety Pharmacology, Drug Safety Evaluation Division, Allergan, Inc. Associate faculty member, Faculty of 1000.

Kristy L. Richards

Assistant Professor of Medicine and Genetics at the University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill.

Juan R. Riesgo-Escovar

Associate Professor of Biology at the Instituto de Neurobiología at the Mexican National Autonomous University. Recipient of the Young Investigator Award for Natural Sciences of UNAM. Former President of the Mexican Society of Developmental Biology.

Coen J. Ritsema

Professor of Soil Physics and Land Management at Wageningen University, the Netherlands. Recipient of Honorary Professorships at i) Deakin University, Australia, ii) the Institute of Soil and Water Conservation, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China, and iii) Moscow State University of Environmental Engineering, Russia.

Signup for alerts & more

It's Free. Enter your email or learn more.

If you would like to be considered for our academic editorial board then please send your cover letter and resume/CV to