Academic Editors

The following people constitute the Editorial Board of Academic Editors for PeerJ. These active academics are the Editors who seek peer reviewers, evaluate their responses, and make editorial decisions on each submission to the journal. Learn more about becoming an Editor.

Conor P O'Byrne

Director of the Bacterial Stress Response Group, Senior lecturer in Microbiology at the National University of Ireland, Galway. The research focus in my group is on the molecular mechanisms that food-borne bacterial pathogens use to sense and respond to harsh conditions in their environment. Pathogens encounter major physicochemical changes as they transition from food into the host, particularly in relation to pH, osmolarity, oxygen concentration, light and temperature. Understanding how pathogenic bacteria detect and respond to these changes is critical if we are to devise sensible strategies to prevent their entry into the food chain and to prevent infections from arising in the human population. In my laboratory we study two important food-borne pathogens, Listeria monocytogenes and Escherichia coli.

Wayne A. O'Connor

Dr O’Connor is a Principal Research Scientist and Research Leader for Aquaculture at Fisheries New South Wales’ Port Stephens Fisheries Institute. His undergraduate studies were undertaken at Newcastle University and he received his PhD from the University of Technology, Sydney, working on aspects of scallop physiology and reproductive biology. He has 30 years experience in Aquaculture research and has worked on a variety programs including algal culture and the development of propagation techniques for a number of molluscs such as oysters (edible and pearl), scallops, mussels and clams. Currently, Dr O’Connor leads molluscan research programs that range from the development of selective breeding techniques and triploid induction to environmental impact and ecotoxicological evaluations. dr O'Connor is a member of the editorial boards for the journals Aquaculture and Aquaculture Research. Molluscan Research and Water. He is a Conjoint Professor in Life Sciences at Newcastle University, an Adjunct Assoc. Prof in Genecology at the University of the Sunshine Coast and a Visiting Fellow at Macquarie University.

Lorraine O'Driscoll

BSc, MSc, MA, PhD, FTCD. Director of Research, Assoc. Prof. of Pharmacology. Worked in research for industry for 5yr prior to academia. Main focus: cancer; new therapeutic targets; diagnostic & predictive biomarkers; mechanisms of cell-cell communication - resulting in Phase I&II clinical trials, publications, patents. Lorraine leads an EU FP7 Cooperation in Science&Technology and research grants from HRB, EI, SFI, Marie Keating Foundation, Mater Foundation, Danish Strategic Research Council/EU.

Luke O'Neill

Chair of Biochemistry at Trinity College Dublin & Academic Director of the Trinity Biomedical Sciences Institute. Awards include the Royal Irish Academy Medal for Biochemistry, The Irish Society for Immunology medal, the Royal Dublin Society/Irish Times Boyle medal for Scientific Excellence & the Science Foundation Ireland Researcher of the Year Award. Co-founder and director of Opsona Therapeutics. In 2008 he was appointed Chair of the Immunity & Infection panel of the European Research Council

Zoran Obradovic

Professor of computer and information sciences and the director of the Data Analytics and Biomedical Informatics Center at Temple University in Philadelphia. Co-chair for 2013 and 2014 SIAM International Conference on Data Mining and previously the program and/or track chair at many data mining and biomedical informatics conference.

Audrey R Odom John

Associate Professor, Washington University School of Medicine, Saint Louis, MO.
Department of Pediatrics (Infectious Diseases). Department of Microbiology.

The primary research goals of our lab are to understand the biological functions of specific metabolic pathways in the malaria parasite--that is, to understand what the parasite needs to make, and why it needs to make it.

Charles Ofria

Professor of Computer Science at Michigan State University; Director of the Digital Evolution Laboratory and Deputy Director of the BEACON Center for the Study of Evolution in Action.

Brenda Oppert

University of Texas at El Paso (9/75-8/78), B.S. in Biology, 1978
University of Texas at El Paso (1/83-12/86), M.S. in Biology, 1986
Kansas State University (8/86-5/91), Ph.D. in Biochemistry, 1991

• Research Molecular Biologist (GS-15), CGAHR, Manhattan, KS (4/91-present)
• Adjunct Professor, Department of Entomology, Kansas State University (1/99-present)

Sandra Orsulic

Associate Professor and Director, Women's Cancer Biology, Women's Cancer Program, Cedars-Sinai Medical Center. Associate Professor, Department of OB/GYN, David Geffen School of Medicine, UCLA

Karen Osborn

Midwater biologist by way of Western Washington University, Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute (MBARI), University of California Berkeley, Scripps Institution of Oceanography.

Gozde Ozakinci

Lecturer in health psychology; honorary health psychologist at Maggie's Cancer charity-Dundee; Associate Editor at Journal of Behavioral Medicine; Academic Editor at PLoS ONE

Join for Free

It's Free. Enter your email or learn more.