Academic Editors

The following people constitute the Editorial Board of Academic Editors for PeerJ. These active academics are the Editors who seek peer reviewers, evaluate their responses, and make editorial decisions on each submission to the journal. We will continue to add to the board of Academic Editors and are seeking qualified and diverse academics who share our vision.

Rafael J Najmanovich

Associate Professor, Systems & Structural Computational Biology. University of Sherbrooke, Canada. Postdoc EMBL-EBI. PhD Physics & Biology, Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel. MSc Statistical Biological Physics & BSc. Molecular Sciences, University of São Paulo, Brazil.

Kenta Nakai

Professor of Human Genome Center, the Institute of Medical Science, the University of Tokyo, Japan. Editor of DNA Research and Mathematical Biosciences. Former president of the Japanese Society of Bioinformatics.

Toshinori Nakayama

Professor of Immunology, Graduate School of Medicine, Chiba University since 2001. Director, Chiba University Future Medicine Research Center since 2012.

Eiji Nambara

Assistant Professor at the Cell & Systems Biology of University of Toronto. Recipient of the 2006 Young Investigator Award (Japanese Society for Plant Physiologists), and the 2010 Research Award (Japanese Society for Chemical Regulation).

Ilaria Negri

PhD in Animal Biology, University of Bologna, Italy
Master Degree in Food Safety and Environmental Health, University of Piacenza, Italy. I have a background in molecular and evolutionary biology, applying different techniques (TEM, ISH, FISH, RNAseq, qPCR) for the study of insect/symbiont associations. My interests also include the use of bioindicators and bioaccumulators for monitoring environmental pollutants, including airborne PM.

KoonGee Neoh

Professor of Chemical Engineering at the National University of Singapore. Recipient of the 1996 National Science Award of Singapore.

Marie-Louise Newell

Professor of Global Health, University of Southampton, UK and previous Director of the Africa Centre of Health and Population Studies, UKZN, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa. Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences. Honorary Professor of Public Health, WITS, South Africa. Member of the Academy of Sciences, South Africa.

Irene L.G. Newton

Assistant Professor of Biology in the Microbiology section. Woodrow Wilson Foundation Fellow, Andrew Mellon fellow, and advisor to the Social Science Research Counsel, former Howard Hughes Medical Institute Predoctoral Fellow and former NSF postdoctoral fellow.

Florence Neymotin

Associate Professor of Economics at the H. Wayne Huizenga School of Business and Entrepreneurship at Nova Southeastern University.

Tzi Bun Ng

Prof. of Biochemistry, School of Biomedical Sciences.

Raymond Niaura

Associate Director for Science at the Schroeder Institute, and Professor, Department of Health, Behavior and Society in The Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health. Past President of the Society for Research on Nicotine & Tobacco; Fellow of the American Psychological Association, the Society for Behavioral Medicine, and the American Academy of Health Behavior.

Christine J. Nicol

Professor of Animal Welfare at the School of Veterinary Science, University of Bristol. Recipient of 2001 Prince Laurent Foundation prize for work on equine welfare. Recipient of 2012 Universities Federation for Animal Welfare medal for outstanding achievements in animal welfare science. Section Editor for the journal Animal Welfare.

It's Free. Enter your email or learn more.