Your institution has a plan with PeerJ, so that you don't have to pay to publish Open Access. See if you qualify

Read for yourself

why authors & institutions are choosing to publish in PeerJ.
Author interviews / Institutional case studies

Academic Editors

The following people constitute the Editorial Board of Academic Editors for the PeerJ journal. These active academics are the Editors who seek peer reviewers, evaluate their responses, and make editorial decisions on each submission to the journal. We will continue to add to the board of Academic Editors and are seeking qualified and diverse academics who share our vision.

Stephen L Macknik

Stephen L. Macknik trained as a postdoc with Zachary Mainen at Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, and David Hubel at Harvard Medical School. He has a BA in Psychobiology, Biology and Psychology from the Univ of California, Santa Cruz, and a PhD in Neurobiology from Harvard Univ, with Margaret Livingstone. His research seeks to understand the neural underpinnings of visual awareness and attention, and the neural consequences of cerebral blood flow in the healthy brain and in neurological disorders.

Anil K Malhotra

Dr. Malhotra’s research focuses on identifying the biological underpinnings of schizophrenia and the mechanism of action of antipsychotic drugs. His group has identified a number of genes associated with increased risk for the disorder, determined their relationship with important clinical manifestations of illness, including cognitive impairment, and examined the role of genetic factors in predicting individual responses to pharmacological treatment.

J. John Mann

J. John Mann MD, is The Paul Janssen Professor of Translational Neuroscience (in Psychiatry and in Radiology) at Columbia University. He is Director of The Molecular Imaging and Neuropathology Division at the New York State Psychiatric Institute and Department of Psychiatry. Dr. Mann is Past President of the International Academy of Suicide Research and The Society of Biological Psychiatry.

Pier M. Mannucci

Scientific Director of the Research Hospital Cà Granda Foundation in Milan. Awards include the Murray Thelin Award; the Robert Grant Medal, the Ham-Wasserman Lecture Award, and the Jean Bernard Award. Former President of the International Society for Thrombosis and Haemostasis and Former Editor-in-Chief of the Journal Thrombosis and Haemostasis. Currently Editor-in-Chief of the European Journal of Internal Medicine.

Kathleen Marchal

Associate Professor Bioinformatics, Department of Bioinformatics and Plant Biotechnology, Ghent University, Belgium; VIB department Plant Systems Biology. Associate Professor Bioinformatics, Department of Microbial and Molecular Plant Sciences, KU Leuven, Belgium. Recipient of the DSM award 2000. Recipient of the Biannual Siemens award 2002. Associate editor of BMC Release notes, BMC Bioinformatics, Journal of Integrative Omics

Therese A. Markow

Amylin Chair in Life Sciences, UCSD. Recipient George Beadle Award, Genetics Society of America 2012. Former Editor, EVOLUTION. Former President, Society for the Study of Evolution. Director, Drosophila Species Stock Center, UCSD. Former Director, Center for Insect Science, University of Arizona. Regents' Professor University of Arizona. Recipient, Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics, and Engineering Mentoring. Fellow, American Association for the Advancement in Science.

Sally J. Marshall

Vice provost of academic affairs and director of the Office of Faculty Development and Advancement. Professor of biomaterials and bioengineering in the Department of Preventive and Restorative Dental Sciences in the UCSF School of Dentistry. Guest staff scientist at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. Former president of the International Association for Dental Research and a fellow of the Academy of Dental Materials.

Lennart Martens

Professor of Systems Biology at Ghent University, Belgium and Group Leader of the Computational Omics and Systems Biology (CompOmics) group at VIB, Belgium. Editor or Editorial Board Member for several other journals, including PLoS ONE, Proteomics, Amino Acids, Molecular BioSystems, and BBA - Proteins and Proteomics. Author of three text books in the field of Proteomics Informatics.

Francis M. Martin

Research Director at the French National Institute of Agricultural Research (INRA). Head of the Lab of Excellence ARBRE at INRA-Nancy Research Center. Editor of the New Phytologist and Associate Editor of Fungal Genetics & Biology. Recipient of the INRA Laurel Wreath for Excellence for my work on tree-microbe interactions and fungal genomics. Member of the French Academy of Agriculture. Plant biologist focusing on fungal mutualistic symbioses and fungal genomics.

Gregory B. Martin

Boyce Schulze Downey Research Chair of the Boyce Thompson Institute for Plant Research and Professor, Department of Plant Pathology and Plant-Microbe Biology, Cornell University. Fellow of the AAAS and the American Academy of Microbiology. Recipient of the Noel Keen award for Excellence in Molecular Plant Pathology.

Susana Martinez-Conde

Associate Professor of Neurobiology and Director of the Laboratory of Visual Neuroscience at the Barrow Neurological Institute. Founding Member and President of the Neural Correlate Society and Executive Producer of the annual Best Illusion of the Year Contest. Former Executive Board Member of the Association for the Scientific Study of Consciousness. Advisory Board Member and Columnist for Scientific American Mind.

Jesús Marugán-Lobón

Dr. Marugán-Lobón is a Paleobiologist from the Universidad autónoma of Madrid, Spain. He is an specialist in Geometric Morphometrics, and his research is focused in understanding macroevolutionary trends in vertebrates, and in particular, the dinosaur-bird transition. He belongs to the research staff of the Las Hoyas fossil site, is Research Associate of the Dinosaur Institute (NHM), and colaborates with the Theoretical Biology Lab, Cavanilles Institute of Biological Diversity and Evolution.

Signup for alerts & more

It's Free. Enter your email or learn more.

If you would like to be considered for our academic editorial board then please send your cover letter and resume/CV to