Your institution has a plan with PeerJ, so that you don't have to pay to publish Open Access. See if you qualify

Read for yourself

why authors & institutions are choosing to publish in PeerJ.
Author interviews / Institutional case studies

Academic Editors

The following people constitute the Editorial Board of Academic Editors for the PeerJ journal. These active academics are the Editors who seek peer reviewers, evaluate their responses, and make editorial decisions on each submission to the journal. We will continue to add to the board of Academic Editors and are seeking qualified and diverse academics who share our vision.

Floris P.J.G. Lafeber

Professor of ‘Experimental Rheumatology’ University Medical Centre Utrecht. Manager of research and head of research laboratory of the department of Rheumatology & Clinical Immunology, UMCU. In addition to organization, initiation, and facilitation research of the department, there is a personal interest in a unique treatment of severe osteoarthritis being joint distraction, and in a unique animal model of osteoarthritis being the canine Groove model.

Oi-Ming Lai

Professor in Enzyme Technology, Department of Bioprocess Technology, Faculty of Biotechnology & Biomolecular Sciences, Universiti Putra Malaysia. Lead editor of "Palm Oil: Production, processing,characterization and uses", co editor of "Healthful Lipids". Awards include WIPO's Best Invention by Woman Award in 2008 in Brussels, Belgium. Sits on the Editorial Board of the Food and Bioprocess Technology Journal and is a fellow of the Institute of Bioscience, UPM.

Anna-Liisa Laine

Adjunct Professor at the University of Helsinki. Currently appointed as Academy Research Fellow. PI in Centre of Excellence in Research on Metapopulation Biology. Academic editor for PLOS ONE and member the editorial board of Journal of Evolutionary Biology.

Elizabeth G. Laird

Academic Editor PLoS ONE. Recipient of the 2006 Rupert Timpl Award from the International Society for Matrix Biology.

Nicoletta Landsberger

University of Insubria

N Landsberger is associate professor in Molecular Biology at the University of Insubria (Italy).
Even though her previous research domain was in chromatin structure and gene transcription, actually the research activity supervised by N.L. is exclusively dedicated to MECP2 and CDKL5 related disorders, focusing on the molecular roles of the two proteins, the signaling pathways controlling their activity, the identification of target genes and the development of novel cellular and animal models.

Florian Lang

Professor of Physiology and Head of the Department for Physiology I in Tübingen, Member of the German Academy of Natural Sciences Leopoldina. Former President of the Geman Physiological Society and the Germany Society of Nephrology.

Peter Langridge

CEO of the Australian Centre for Plant Functional Genomics and Professor in Plant Science at the University of Adelaide.

B Duncan X Lascelles

After graduating from the veterinary program at the University of Bristol, U.K., with honors, Dr. Lascelles completed a PhD in aspects of pre-emptive/perioperative analgesia at the University of Bristol. After an internship there, he completed his surgical residency at the University of Cambridge, U.K. and then a Fellowship in Oncological Surgery at Colorado State University. He is currently Professor in Small Animal Surgery and Pain Management at North Carolina State University.

Corinne I. Lasmezas

The Scripps Research Institute

Corinne Lasmezas has been studying prion diseases since 1990, with respect to the mechanisms of prion replication, pathogenesis of the disease in the living organism, zoonotic potential of bovine spongiform encephalopathy and blood-borne risk, the mechanisms of neurodegeneration and therapy. Her studies now encompass the fundamental aspects of neurodegeneration common to other protein misfolding neurodegenerative diseases like Alzheimer, Parkinson and Huntington's diseases.

Andrew B. Lassar

Professor, Department of Biological Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology, Harvard Medical School.

Gerard R. Lazo

Geneticist; Genomics and Gene Discovery Research Unit, Agricultural Research Service, Western Regional Research Center, Albany, CA USA.

Nicolas Le Novère

Group leader at the EMBL-EBI and at the Babraham Institute. Director of research at the CNRS. Associate editor of BMC Systems Biology.

Signup for alerts & more

It's Free. Enter your email or learn more.

If you would like to be considered for our academic editorial board then please send your cover letter and resume/CV to