Your institution has a plan with PeerJ, so that you don't have to pay to publish Open Access. See if you qualify

Read for yourself

why authors & institutions are choosing to publish in PeerJ.
Author interviews / Institutional case studies

Academic Editors

The following people constitute the Editorial Board of Academic Editors for the PeerJ journal. These active academics are the Editors who seek peer reviewers, evaluate their responses, and make editorial decisions on each submission to the journal. We will continue to add to the board of Academic Editors and are seeking qualified and diverse academics who share our vision.

Leo Eberl

Professor of Microbiology and Head of the Department of Microbiology, University of Zürich, Switzerland.

Scott V. Edwards

Alexander Agassiz Professor of Zoology and Curator of Ornithology in the Museum of Comparative Zoology and Professor of Organismic and Evolutionary Biology, Harvard University. President, Society for the Study of Evolution (2011-12); President, Society of Systematic Biologists (2007); President, American Genetic Association (2011). Elected Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science (2009); American Academy of Arts & Sciences (2009).

Stacey Efstathiou

Reader in Virology, Cambridge University. Head of Division of Virology, Cambridge University (2003-2010)

Luis E. Eguiarte

Professor and Head of the Evolutionary Ecology Department at the Institute of Ecology of the National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM).

Linda S Ehrlich-Jones

Research Assistant Professor, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine; Past-President Association of Rheumatology Health Professionals

Jonathan A. Eisen

Full Professor, University of California, Davis (Depts. of ‘Medical Microbiology and Immunology’ and ‘Evolution and Ecology)’ and Adjunct Scientist DOE Joint Genome Institute. Recipient of the Benjamin Franklin Award for Open Science, 2011. Chair of the Advisory Board for PLoS Biology. Elected Member of the American Academy of Microbiology.

Satheesh Elangovan

Assistant Professor in the Department of Periodontics and evidence reviewer for the American Dental Association. Diplomate of the American Board of Periodontology.

Hans Ellegren

Professor in Evolutionary Biology at the Evolutionary Biology Centre (EBC). Serves as Dean of Research at the Faculty of Science and Technology at Uppsala University. Fellow of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences. Current and past Editorial Boards of BMC Genomics, Biology Letters, Conservation Genetics, Journal of Molecular Evolution, Molecular Ecology and PLoS ONE.

Aaron M. Ellison

Senior Research Fellow at the Harvard Forest and Adjunct Professor at the University of Massachuestts; Editor-in-Chief of Ecological Monographs; Presidential Faculty Fellow (US National Science Foundation), Eminent Ecologist (Kellogg Biological Station), Distinguished Visiting Professor (University of Miami), Distinguished Ecologist (Michigan Technical University), Ledermann Lecturer in Natural History and Cosnervation Biology (University of Rhode Island), Fellow (Ecological Society of America)

Chris S Elphick

Chris Elphick earned his PhD from the University of Nevada - Reno, for his work on the ecology and conservation of wetland birds in California's rice fields. More recently, he has worked on the population dynamics and management of several species of endangered waterbirds, and on the ecology and conservation of saltmarsh birds.

Richard D Emes

Associate Professor and Reader in Bioinformatics at Nottingham School of Veterinary Medicine and Science and Director of the University of Nottingham Advanced Data Analysis Centre.
Research interests are in bioinformatics, comparative genomics and molecular evolution particularly in the fields of pathogen biology, epigenetics and neurobiology.

Frank Emmert-Streib

Lecturer/Assistant Professor, Center for Cancer Research and Cell Biology, Queen’s University Belfast. Head of the Computational Biology and Machine Learning Laboratory.

Signup for alerts & more

It's Free. Enter your email or learn more.

If you would like to be considered for our academic editorial board then please send your cover letter and resume/CV to