Your institution has a plan with PeerJ, so that you don't have to pay to publish Open Access. See if you qualify

Read for yourself

why authors are choosing to publish in PeerJ & support its mission. Author interviews

Academic Editors

The following people constitute the Editorial Board of Academic Editors for the PeerJ journal. These active academics are the Editors who seek peer reviewers, evaluate their responses, and make editorial decisions on each submission to the journal. We will continue to add to the board of Academic Editors and are seeking qualified and diverse academics who share our vision.

Curtis Daehler

Professor of Botany and graduate faculty in Ecology, Evolution and Conservation Biology at the University of Hawaii at Manoa. Editor-in-Chief of Pacific Science. Research interests include invasive species, plant-animal interactions, population biology, island biology, conservation and biogeography.

Antonio Damasio

David Dornsife Professor of Neuroscience, Neurology and Psychology, and Director of the Brain and Creativity Institute at the University of Southern California. Awards include the 2010 Honda Prize for scientific excellence, the Asturias Prize in Science and Technology; and the Pessoa, Signoret, and Cozzarelli Prizes. Member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences and a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and the European Academy of Sciences and Arts.

Zbigniew Darzynkiewicz

Professor of Pathology, Medicine and Microbiology/Immunology at the New York Medical College, Valhalla, NY. Foreign Member of the Polish Academy of Sciences (PAN) and Fellow ofthe American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE). Former President of Cell Kinetics Society and of the International Society for Analytical Cytology (ISAC).

Mary Dasso

Senior Investigator in the Laboratory of Gene Regulation and Development, National Institute for Child Health and Human Development.

Gary W. Daughdrill

Associate Professor of Cell Biology, Microbiology, and Molecular Biology. Associate Member of the Center for Drug Discovery and Innovation. Recipient of a Research Scholar Grant from the American Cancer Society. Co-Chair of the 2014 Gordon Conference on Intrinsically Disordered Proteins.

Martin Daumer

Dr Martin Daumer: Director of the SLCMSR e.v. - The Human Motion Institute in Munich and managing director of the IT company, Trium Analysis Online GmbH. He is also visiting lecturer for Telemedicine and Clinical Applications of Computational Medicine at the Technical University Munich.

Dr Daumer received a diploma in Physics in 1990 and a Ph.D. in mathematics from the Ludwig-Maximilians-University Munich in 1995, after having worked at CERN, Switzerland, and Rutgers University, USA.

Alberto Davalos

Senior researcher at IMDEA Food Institute, Madrid-Spain. Fellow of the "MARIE CURIE" AMAROUT Europe Programme.

David A. Day

Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Vice President (Research), Flinders University, Australia; previous appointments include Dean of Science at Sydney University and Professor of Biochemistry at the University of Western Australia and the Australian National University. Research expertise in plant biochemistry and molecular biology.

Walter F. de Azevedo Jr.

Professor of Biophysics, Bioinformatics and Drug Design at Pontifical Catholic University of Rio Grande do Sul-Brazil. Regional Editor for Current Drug Target and guest editor for Current Medicinal Chemistry. My research is focused on biologically inspired models of computing, also known as bio-inspired computing. I also study the problem of protein-ligand interactions, using bioinformatics methodologies such as molecular docking simulations, QSAR, and molecular dynamics.

Gonzalo de Prat Gay

Career Principal Investigator at the Argentine National Science Council, Head or Protein Structure-Function and Engineering Lab at FundaciĆ³n Instituto Leloir; Founder XBio Inc; Editor, BMC Structural Biology.

Natasha de Vere

Head of Conservation and Research at the National Botanic Garden of Wales and Senior Lecturer at the Institute of Biological, Environmental and Rural Sciences (IBERS) at Aberystwyth University.

Willem M. De Vos

Willem M. de Vos is Professor of Microbiology at Wageningen University & Finland Academy Professor at Helsinki University. He supervised over 90 PhD students & published over 500 peer-reviewed publications. His research aims to understand & exploit microbes using molecular, (meta)genomics & systems approaches. His current interest is focused on the human intestinal tract. He received various prizes, including the Rhone Poulenc Dairy Science Award, the NWO Spinoza Award & an ERC Advanced Grant.

Signup for alerts & more

It's Free. Enter your email or learn more.

If you would like to be considered for our academic editorial board then please send your cover letter and resume/CV to