Your institution has a plan with PeerJ, so that you don't have to pay to publish Open Access. See if you qualify

Read for yourself

why authors & institutions are choosing to publish in PeerJ.
Author interviews / Institutional case studies

Advisory Board and Editors Diabetes & Endocrinology

Takashi Akamizu

Major research area ares endocrinology, thyroidology and ghrelin.

George E Bentley

Associate Professor of Integrative Biology and Neuroscience.
Director, UC Berkeley Field Station for the Study of Behavior, Ecology and Reproduction. Editorial Board of Domestic Animal Endocrinology, Frontiers in Systems and Integrative Pharmacology, Frontiers in Endocrinology

Jeffrey A. Bluestone

A.W. and Mary Margaret Clausen Distinguished Professor; Director, Hormone Research Institute; and Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost. Serves on the Science Translational Medicine advisory board and founding Director, Immune Tolerance Network. A recipient of a Guggenheim Fellowship and elected member of the Academy of Arts and Sciences. Dr. Bluestone has spent over 30 years working as an immunologist interested in immune tolerance as it relates to autoimmunity and organ transplantation.

Stephane Cauchi

Doctor in Human Genetics, First-Class Research Scientist, CNRS UMR8199, Head of Genetics and Epigenetics of Type 2 Diabetes Department.

George P. Chrousos

Prof. George P Chrousos is internationally recognized for his research on the glucocorticoid signaling system of the cell, on the diseases of the hypothalamic-pituitary-adrenal axis, and on the physiological and molecular mechanisms of stress. He is one of the 250 most cited scientists internationally (ISI highly cited) included not only in the list of Clinical Medicine, but also in that of Biology and Biochemistry, and the highest cited clinical endocrinologist and pediatrician in the world.

Leif C. Groop

Professor in Endocrinology at Lund University and Director of Lund University Diabetes Centre. Has served on numerous editorial boards and achieved several international recognitions, including the Jacob Poulsen, Knud Lundbaek and the Claude Bernard award.

Scott M. Grundy

Director of the Center for Human Nutrition. Member of the American Society for Clinical Investigation, the American Association of Physicians, and the National Academies of Sciences (Institute of Medicine).

Johannes Hebebrand

Head of the Department of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, Psychosomatics and Psychotherapy, University of Duisburg-Essen. Medical Director of LVR-Klinikum Essen, University of Duisburg-Essen. Former President of the German Society of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, Psychosomatics and Psychotherapy.

Akio Inui

Prof. Akio Inui is the chairman of the department of Psychosomatic Medicine, Kagoshima University Graduate School, Kagoshima Japan. He completed his M.D. and Ph.D. degrees at Kobe University. He is recognized for his studies in elucidating the role of gut-brain peptides such as ghrelin, and his efforts are now focused on the translational research for better understanding and management of human behavioral disorders, including obesity, cancer cachexia, and eating disorders.

Ingrid Kreissig

University Professor, MD; Professor h.c. of Ufa Eye Research Institute; Adjunct Professor of Clinical Ophthalmology, New York Presbyterian Hospital, Cornell University, USA; Professor of Ophthalmology, Dept. of Ophthalmology Univ. of Mannheim, Heidelberg, Germany. Former Chairman of Department of Ophthalmology University of Tuebingen, Germany. Author of 3 books on Retinal Detachment Surgery.

Aldons J. Lusis

Professor of Human Genetics, Medicine, and Microbiology,Immunology and Molecular Genetics, University of California, Los Angeles. Associate Editor, Journal of Lipid Research. Recipient of 2008 American Heart Association Duff Award and2009 NAVBO Benditt Award.

Premendu P. Mathur

Professor of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology and Head, Center for Bioinformatics, Pondicherry University. Currently Vice-Chancellor, KIIT University, Bhubaneswar, India. Recipeint of Young Scientists' Award, Rockefeller Foundation Postdoctoral Award, Rockefeller Foundation Biotechnology Career Award, PN Shah Memoraial US Vitamin (India) and Subhas Mukherjee Memorial Infar India Oration Awards. Editorial Board Member of Asian Journal of Andrology, Spermatogenesis, Open J Andrology