Your institution has a plan with PeerJ, so that you don't have to pay to publish Open Access. See if you qualify

Read for yourself

why authors are choosing to publish in PeerJ & support its mission. Author interviews

Advisory Board and Editors Mathematical Biology

Christian L. Althaus

SNSF Ambizione Research Fellow at the Institute of Social and Preventive Medicine (ISPM) at the University of Bern (Switzerland). Christian Althaus' research is focused on modeling the dynamics of infectious diseases within and between hosts. He is a co-founder of the Swiss Meeting for Infectious Disease Dynamics (SMIDDY).

Søren M Bentzen

Professor, Director of the Division of Biostatistics & Medical Informatics, Department of Epidemiology and Public Health, University of Maryland - Baltimore. Adjunct professor University of Copenhagen, Denmark. 20+ awards and honors incl. ESTRO Gold Medal, MD Anderson Distinguished Alumnus Award, Honorary Life member Assoc. of Radiation Oncologists of India & Belgian Soc. for Therapeutic Radiology and Oncology. 370+ publications, H-index 62 Web of Science.

Nils Christophersen

Professor at the Department of informatics, University of Oslo. Heading the Computational Life Science initiative (CLSi) at the University of Oslo where the aim is to strengthen interdisciplinary research, teaching, and service.

Matthias Dehmer

Professor of Bioinformatics and Systems Biology. Head of the Insititute for Bioinformatics and Translational Research at UMIT, Hall in Tyrol, Austria.

Martin Falcke

Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine

Head of the group Mathematical Cell Physiology, Recipient of the 2003 Erwin Schrödinger Award

Michele Giugliano

Associate Professor and PI at the Univ. of Antwerp. Visiting academic at the Dept. Computer Science, Univ. of Sheffield (UK), and external collaborator at the Brain Mind Institute of the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology of Lausanne, Switzerland. Associate Editor of Frontiers in Neuroengineering and PLoS ONE. Recipient in 2001 of a long-term fellowship from the Human Frontier Science Program Organization. Since 2008, director of the Lab of Theoretical Neurobiology and Neuroengineering.

Jessica L. Green

Associate Professor of Biology and External Faculty at the Santa Fe Institute. Founding Director of the Biology and Built Environment Center. Technology Entertainment and Design (TED) Senior Fellow, Guggenheim Fellow, Blaise Pascal International Research Chair.

Alan Hastings

Distinguished Professor of Environmental Science and Policy. Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Former President of the Society for Mathematical Biology and Editor of the Encyclopedia of Theoretical Ecology.

Stephen P. Hubbell

Distinguished Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, UCLA, and Senior Staff Scientist, Smithsonian Tropical Research Institute; Founding Chair, National Council for Science and the Environment, Washington, D.C.; Co-founder, Center for Tropical Forest Science; Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences: Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Yoh Iwasa

Professor of Biology and Director at the Institute for Advanced Study Kyushu University. Chief Editor of Journal of Theoretical Biology. Recipient of 2003 Motoo Kimura prize, and 2003 Ecological Society of Japan prize. Former president of Ecological Society of Japan, Society for Evolutionary Studies Japan, and Japanese Society for Mathematical Biology.

Mikko Karttunen

Professor of Chemistry at University of Waterloo. Leader of the Computational and Theoretical Biological Physics & Chemistry Group. Affiliate of the Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics at Waterloo.

Benjamin H Letcher

Ben Letcher is a quantitative stream ecologist working at the interface of field studies and mathematical models of population and evolutionary dynamics. My group is combining information from long-term intensive studies of stream fish with extensive studies to develop broad scale models of population response to environmental change.