Advisory Board and Editors Autonomous Systems

Wolfgang Banzhaf

Wolfgang Banzhaf is University Research Professor at the Department of Computer Science of Memorial U. of Newfoundland. He received a "Diplom in Physik" degree in Physics from the LMU Munich and his Dr.rer.nat (PhD) from the Dept. of Physics of the TH Karlsruhe, now KIT. After a postdoc at the U. of Stuttgart, he was a Visiting and Senior Researcher at the Central Research Lab of Mitsubishi Electric in Japan and at MERL in Cambridge, USA. From 1993 to 2003 he was Assoc. Prof. for Appl. CS at TU Dortmund.

Yaochu Jin

Professor of Computational Intelligence, University of Surrey, UK, Finland Distinguished Professor, Jyvaskyla, Finland, Changjiang Distinguished Professor, Northeastern University, China. Vice President for Technical Activities, IEEE Computational Intelligence Magazine, IEEE Distinguished Lecturer.

Lydia E Kavraki

Lydia Kavraki received her B.A. in Computer Science from the University of Crete in Greece and her Ph.D. in Computer Science from Stanford University. Her research contributions are in physical algorithms and their applications in robotics as well as in computational structural biology and translational bioinformatics. Kavraki is the recipient of the ACM Grace Murray Hopper Award; a Fellow of ACM, IEEE, AAAS, AAAI, and AIMBE; and a member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies.

Jeffrey O Kephart

IBM Research scientist known for seminal work on computer virus epidemiology and immunology, emergent behavior of economies involving software agents, and autonomic (self-managing) computer systems. Author of over 150 refereed papers (h-index > 50) and over 30 issued patents. Led data center energy initiative resulting in multiple commercial offerings from IBM's software, systems and services divisions. Awarded IEEE Fellow for leadership and technical contributions to autonomic computing.

Jana Koehler

Member of the German Computer Science Society GI, the Swiss Informatics Society SI, a life-time member of the Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence AAAI, and president of the DFKI alumni association VFFDFKI. In Nov 2014, I was elected president of SGAICO, the special interest group for artificial intelligence and cognitive science of the SI. My current research focuses on artificial intelligence solutions for industrial systems and dynamic business processes.

Lisa Meeden

Lisa Meeden is a Full Professor of the Computer Science Department at Swarthmore College. She also helped to create the interdisciplinary Cognitive Science Program there. Her research focuses on the field of developmental robotics and she is particularly interested in designing general-purpose, task-independent robot control systems. She received her Ph.D. in Computer Science with a minor in Cognitive Science from Indiana University. She received her B.A. in Mathematics from Grinnell College.

Filippo Menczer

Fil Menczer holds a Laurea in Physics from the Univ. of Rome and a Ph.D. in Computer and Cognitive Science from UC San Diego. He directs the Center for Complex Networks and Systems Research at Indiana University and is a Fellow of the ISI Foundation in Torino, Italy, a Senior Research Fellow of The Kinsey Institute, and an ACM Distinguished Scientist. His research focuses on Web science, social networks, social media, social computation, Web mining, and complex information networks.

Mario Negrello

Mario Negrello obtained a mechanical engineering degree in Brazil (1997), and later after a period in the industry (VW 1999-2004) including RD and Prototypes, obtained his Masters degree (2006) and PhD (summa cum laude) in Cognitive Science at the University of Osnabrück in Germany in 2009. At that time, in the Fraunhofer Institute in Sankt Augustin (Germany) for Intelligent Dynamics and Autonomous Systems, he researched artificial evolution of neural network controllers for autonomous robots (2007/08). This work was awarded a scholarship by the International Society of Neural Networks (INNS) to sponsor an eight-month period (2008/09) as a visiting researcher at the Computational Synthesis Lab at the Aerospace Engineering department of the Cornell University in USA (with Hod Lipson). In his first post doctoral period he acted a group leader at the Computational Neuroscience laboratory at the Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology (with Erik De Schutter). He now heads a neuroscience lab that combines empirical research and computational methods (with Chris De Zeeuw). He has published in the fields of Machine Learning and Cognitive Robotics, Artificial Life, Evolutionary Robotics, Neuroethology and Neuroscience, as well as a monograph published by Springer US in the Series Cognitive and Neural systems entitled Invariants of Behavior (2012).

Charles Ofria

Professor of Computer Science at Michigan State University; Director of the Digital Evolution Laboratory and Deputy Director of the BEACON Center for the Study of Evolution in Action.

Andrea Omicini

I am Full Professor at the Alma Mater Studiorum, the University of Bologna. As a researcher, I am working on coordination, agents, software engineering, intelligent systems, simulation, and self-organisation. As a professor, I am teaching distributed systems and autonomous systems.

Alice C Parker

Professor of Electrical Engr University of Southern California; former: Division Director for Computer Engineering, Dean of Graduate Studies, Vice Provost for Research; previously at Carnegie Mellon; received the B.S.E.E. and Ph.D degrees, North Carolina State University, M.S.E.E. from Stanford University; elected Fellow, IEEE for her contributions to high-level synthesis; NSF Faculty Award for Women Scientists and Engineers, NSF Fellowship, teaching award; neuromorphic computing research

David M Pennock

Principal Research and Assistant Managing Director at Microsoft Research New York City. Over sixty academic publications, including in PNAS, Science, IEEE Computer, AAAI, EC, WWW, and KDD. In 2005, named to MIT Technology Review's top 35 technology innovators under age 35. Ph.D. in Computer Science from the University of Michigan, an M.S. in Computer Science from Duke University, and a B.S. in Physics from Duke.