Spiros Agathos
Academic Editor

Spiros N Agathos


Spiros N. Agathos, Ph.D. is Professor of Bioengineering at the Université Catholique de Louvain (UCL) in Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium since 1993 and, since 2015, he is Inaugural Dean of Biological Sciences and Engineering at Yachay Tech, the first research-intensive university in Ecuador and a hub of innovation in South America.

He is an expert in Biotechnology and Bioengineering, with interests in biocatalyst development, bioprocess optimisation, bioreactor design and scale-up, ecogenomics, and biotechnology for sustainability. He has a PhD in biochemical engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) and served on the faculties of the University of Western Ontario (Canada) and Rutgers University (New Jersey, USA) and as a visiting professor in Europe and the Americas.

He has published over 200 articles, 4 books and 4 patents. He has been Editor or Editorial Board member of many journals and serves on numerous committees for science and technology policy. He is a consultant to governments and industry, while his former students and postdocs have significant academic and industrial positions across the globe. Among his many awards, he is an elected Fellow of the American Institute for Medical & Biological Engineering (AIMBE), of the Society for Industrial Microbiology & Biotechnology (SIMB) and of the International Water Association (IWA).

Bioengineering Biotechnology Environmental Contamination & Remediation

Past or current institution affiliations

Work details

Université catholique de Louvain

Université Catholique de Louvain
September 1993
Earth & Life Institute
The oldest and most prominent university in Belgium.

Yachay Tech University

Yachay Tech University
School of Biological Sciences & Engineering
Yachay Tech University is the first research-intensive university in Ecuador and a model for research and innovation in South America, in collaboration with institutions from around the world.. It is the first residential campus in the country. It is free to attend and has need-blind admissions. Each of its five Faculties consists of two Departments, one concentrating on basic science and the other focusing on technology and engineering.


PeerJ Contributions